A celluloid-lover's dream come true at The Prince Charles Cinema this summer with CHECK THE GATE

Lovers of the whirring sound of a projector and that fine grain effect on screen: rejoice! The Prince Charles cinemas has announced the full line-up for CHECK THE GATE: A Celluloid Celebration. CHECK THE GATE is a new festival season, presented by The Prince Charles Cinema and Park Circus, dedicated to presenting films on film and will run at The PCC from 9th July to 20th August.

The touring programme has been knocked together by a diverse range ofindependent programmers, journalists and film fans, including Cigarette Burns CinemaThe Badlands CollectiveThe Bechdel Test FestTim Robey (The Telegraph), Tom Huddleston (Time Out), Sandra Hebron (NFTS) and the team at The Prince Charles Cinema.

Richard Ayoade (Submarine, The Double) is acting as season ambassador and has handpicked a number of films to screen as part of the season, including Federico Fellini’s rarely screened Amarcord and Paul Thomas Anderson’s Magnolia.
The opening night screening will be Apocalypse Now (Theatrical Edition) and the closing night screening will be both The Last Picture Show and Purple Rain.

Full CHECK THE GATE line-up:

APOCALYPSE NOW [Theatrical Edition] on 35mm
- CHECK THE GATE Opening Night -
Saturday 9th July 20:30

RUMBLE IN THE BRONX on 35mm
Sunday 10th July 20:30

THELMA & LOUISE on 35mm
25th Anniversary presented by The Bechdel Test Fest
Tuesday 12th July 20:15

HARDWARE on 35mm
presented by Tom Huddleston (Time Out)
Thursday 14th July 20:45

FIVE EASY PIECES on 35mm
Friday 15th July 18:25

THE PRIDE OF THE YANKEES on 35mm
Sunday 17th July 15:45

IN A LONELY PLACE on 35mm
presented by Geoff Andrew (BFI)
Wednesday 20th July 18:30

MAGNOLIA + DAYDREAMING on 35mm
presented by Richard Ayoade
Thursday 21st July 20:00

KOYAANISQATSI on 35mm
Friday 22nd July 18:20

HEAVEN'S GATE on 35mm
Saturday 23rd July 11:30

LITTLE SHOP OF HORRORS - a 70mm engagement
Saturday 23rd July 20:45
Monday 25th July 20:45
Sunday 31st July 16:00
Tuesday 2nd August 20:45
Friday 5th August 20:45
Tuesday 9th August 20:45


INNOCENT MOVES on 35mm
presented by Tim Robey (The Telegraph)
Sunday 24th July 15:10

BULLY on 35mm
Sunday 24th July 20:45

MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDRETTE on 35mm
presented by Unicorn Nights
Tuesday 26th July 20:45

THE LITTLE GIRL WHO LIVES DOWN THE LANE on 35mm
presented by Cigarette Burns Cinema
Thursday 28th July 20:45

SHALLOW GRAVE on 35mm
Friday 29th July 18:20

UNDER THE CHERRY MOON on 35mm
Saturday 30th July 18:20

SEX, LIES AND VIDEOTAPE on 35mm
Sunday 31st July 20:45

EUREKA on 35mm
presented by Tony Paley (The Guardian)
Monday 1st August 20:45

O.C. & STIGGS on 35mm
presented by The Duke Mitchell Film Club
Wednesday 3rd August 20:45

SINGLE WHITE FEMALE on 35mm
presented by The Final Girls
Thursday 4th August 20:45

HERO [Ying xiong] on 35mm
Friday 5th August 18:20

THE HURT LOCKER on 35mm
Friday 5th August 20:30

MILDRED PIERCE on 35mm
presented by Sandra Hebron (NFTS)
Sunday 7th August 15:35

KES on 35mm
Sunday 7th August 20:45

SUBMARINE + THE DOUBLE  - a 35mm Double Feature
Monday 8th August 18:45

THE WAR OF THE WORLDS [1953] on 35mm
presented by Science Fiction Theatre
Wednesday 10th August 20:45

MODERN ROMANCE on 35mm
presented by The Badlands Collective
Thursday 11th August 20:45

THE RIGHT STUFF - a 70mm engagement
Saturday 13th August 16:50
Monday 15th August 20:00
Sunday 21st August 12:30
Tuesday 23rd August 20:00


IT'S A MAD, MAD, MAD, MAD WORLD on 35mm
Sunday 14th August 12:00

AMARCORD on 35mm
presented by Richard Ayoade
Tuesday 16th August 20:45

TO LIVE & DIE IN L.A. on 35mm
presented by Richard Ayoade
Wednesday 17th August 20:45

PERFORMANCE on 35mm
presented by Richard Ayoade
Thursday 18th August 20:45

LORDS OF DOGTOWN on 35mm
Friday 19th August 18:30

THE LAST PICTURE SHOW on 35mm
- CHECK THE GATE Closing Night -
Saturday 20th August 13:00

PURPLE RAIN - Sing Along on 35mm
- CHECK THE GATE Closing Night -
Saturday 20th August 20:45
 

Comment

Owen Van Spall

Greetings. I am a Film History MA graduate from Birkbeck University of London and a trained NCTJ qualified journalist. Apart from a long history of film and news writing for this site and various other publications, I am also a trained photographer with my own camera kit. I write mostly every day. Along the way I have picked up work experience at Sight & Sound, The Guardian, The Independent, The FT, The New Statesman, and more. I have written hard news stories, features, arranged and conducted interviews with celebrities, film directors and other major cultural figures, arranged photo shoots, and covered film festivals, conferences and events in the UK and abroad. If you wish to commission me or enquire about full-time opportunities please find my CV and contact details below. A physical portfolio of print only cuttings can also be provided.