Back to All Events

Herne Hill Free Film Festival (1-31 May 2015)


South London is getting stuffed more and more every year with new film societies, clubs and venues, and even area-specific film festivals. Herne Hill Film Festival is back with a truckload of free screenings across a range of venues big and small, indoor and out, including schools and pubs and even lidos.

Tickets and details here.

Details below:

The third HERNE HILL FREE FILM FESTIVAL begins on Friday 1 May, with a whole month of free film events across Herne Hill, London. Everyone welcome. Every event free!

Fri 1 May - THE LADYKILLERS, outdoor screening of a much-loved Ealing Comedy in Station Square, outside Herne Hill Station.

Fri 1 May - THE WAY TO THE STARS, World War II tale screening at the new Milkwood Cinema

Sat 2 May - 48 HOUR FILM COMPETITION, sign up for this filmmaking challenge at the Prince Regent Pub

Sun 3 May – TIM’S VERMEER, documentary about how the artist Vermeer achieved his photographic realism, at the Prince Regent Pub
 
Mon 4 May – MODERN TIMES: THE LIDO and THE LADIES BRIDGE, historic documentaries screening at The Lido Cafe
 
Thurs 7 May – AUDIENCE CHOICE FOR ELECTION NIGHT, find out which film won our own audience poll, at the Prince Regent Pub
 
Sat 9 May – GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL, screening outdoors in the evening at Brockwell Lido
 
Sun 10 May – SHORT FILM NIGHT, a collection of local short films, at the Prince Regent Pub
 
Fri 15 May – THE KID WITH A BIKE, acclaimed father and and son (and bike) movie screening outdoors at the historic Herne Hill Velodrome

Sun 17 May – FINDING VIVIAN MAIER, about one of the best street photographers of the 20th century, at the Prince Regent Pub

Thurs 21 May – THE CAKEMAKER, new film by local filmmaker Paulette Caletti, at the Prince Regent Pub
 
Fri 22 May – BOYHOOD, award-winning movie filmed over more than a decade, screening at Rosendale School
 
Sat 23 May – 48 HOUR FILM COMPETITION AWARDS NIGHT, at the Portico Gallery

Sun 24 May – McCULLIN, documentary about the ground-breaking photojournalist, at the Prince Regent Pub

Tues 26 May – BLANCANIEVES, retelling of the classic Snow White, as a silent movie on a backdrop of 1910 Spain, at the Lido Café, Brockwell Lido

Thurs 28 May – CROOKED FRAME, great night of film shorts from some new writers and directors, at the Prince Regent Pub
 
Sat 30 May – BILL & TED’S EXCELLENT ADVENTURE, it's 2688 and humanity exists as a utopian society. Join us for the closing night of the festival with this wondrous adventure, outdoors in Brockwell Park

All events free. No advance booking. Arrive early to be sure of seat.